04
Mar
12

When Day Dreams Don’t Suffice

Have you ever found yourself sitting on your couch, staring straight ahead, eyes unfocused, hair askew, hands randomly fiddling about with nothing in particular… a piece of paper maybe, or the TV remote? And suddenly you come to and realise that you’re just sitting there with a foolish grin playing on your face, and maybe a stunned onlooker  contemplating whether or not to get you out of your reverie just in case you proceed to do something ridiculous like a tiny little jig or hop on the spot or a graceful pirouette. o_O

Yeah. Day dreaming. Those were the days… aahhh…..

Damn it! There I was at it again!!!

Oh well, one find day, realisation hit me. I realised that in day dreaming, I was living my mind’s strongest desires in an imagined world, and that I wasn’t really making an effort to get them done in reality. I could all of a sudden, pin ALL – each and every single one- my failures, disappointments and delays in accomplishment to this one existence – an alternate world running parallel to the real world in my head, where none of those sad realities existed!

So, when this realization hit, I sat and wondered. What on earth was I to do?

I had a decade ‘s worth of unaccomplished goals to catch up on!

And so ( in wondering,) another decade passed.

Then, one fine Sunday eve, I decided, absolutely cold turkey. TO FRIKKIN START DOING!

And there. That was all that there ever was to be done. Put out a plan, work out a routine, and stick to it with extra effort for a month. And then the second month, I hoped I‘d find that it was programmed into me that I didn’t need to put in that effort that it was all but effortless to get up and DO whatever it was that I wanted done.

I had learnt that autopilot didn’t mean uncontrolled. It meant self- controlled. And so this blog came to be. On Autopilot

0 Responses to “When Day Dreams Don’t Suffice”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

