25
Apr
11

Words Aplenty.

Time and again, I prove to myself, that as stressful times ( meaning exams) return, I turn to updating this blog, and begin to shun, or at least try to stay away from human company. Strange pattern for sure. While most people try to stay with their friends, and establish this system of give and take of support, I turn away from all of that, and shut myself up in the confines of my room, or else wander about, lost, or talking on the phone, maintaining contact with the only people I feel the need for…my parents. Freedom, independence etc I have learnt, are different form an attachment to one’s own family. In the beginning, 8 months back, when I’d just gotten what I perceived as some sort of freedom from constant scrutiny,I resented having to talk to my parents everyday. Probably because having to do that reminded me of what I’d learnt within 5 minutes of being in hostel…. the scrutiny just wasn’t going to be that prominent anymore, but it was going to be there all the same… and it was going to double… from them , same as always, and much to my surprise, i found myself always asking myself whether what i was about to do would pass a check by my parents. But now, neither do my parents scrutinize much, nor do I in that way. I ask myself whether I am comfortable with what I am doing, and suddenly I find, that its much easier to ask my parents what to do, and then take a call,after weighing their opinions. Also, when the first set of exams came up, I realised, that they were going to be the only source of support from whom I’d actually appreciate the support. I found I really didn’t like the kind of support offered by other individuals who were in the same position as me myself. But well, now, so many many months later, I feel like I’ve aged a decade, and have turned into some sort of wise-sagely-owl/Rip Van Winkle. After days of only sleep, days of no sleep whatsoever, days of introspection, and days when all caution was thrown to wind, I have learnt learnt and again learnt, that at the end of the day, there are only a couple of things that you do that can ever be good for you, and they are either doing what your parents ask you o, or going by the first, strongest gut feeling you have…trust either you own instinct, or your parents’ nobody else really has good instincts where you are concerned.  😀 So there, ma, happy?

I’m learning, slowly, but learning all the same, to follow my own advice.

Oh, yes, WE WON THE CUP yayy!!! 😀 I swear….2nd April ’11 definitely became one heck of a memory as India became the first nation to win the cricket WC on home soil, and Sachin’s long cherished dream of winning the cup was FINALLY and well deservedly realised, thought I’m sure he felt the pang of not having stayed on crease for longer, but hell! He’s done his bit!! Although Dhoni was captain, and Yuvraj was Man Of The Series, without denying them their due, the cup was pretty much Sachin’s Cup. Obviously, I have managed to come cross as a mad Sachin crazy person, but I’m not that fussed really, but only feel that if there are people ready to call him God, God of cricket, then he’s obviously something else! And then again, that was that, he’s now off the ODI scene. ODI cricket sure will miss him… At Lords’ at Eden Gardens, at Sharjah, and at Wankhede….. everywhere that has ever been home to cricket shall in some corner reverberate with the sound of Sachin’s bat and the joyous celebration of his many spoils….

Another seemingly good thing, well it could turn into something good…. is the renewal of the Anti-Corruption movement and the efforts to get the Jan Lokpal Bill ( Peoples’ Ombudsman Bill) passed. This proposed bill will create an ombudsman, the jan lokpal, that can try and prosecute bureaucrats and politicians without being under political influence ( though given Indian predisposition it will be only former or current judiciary or political high fliers that form the committee and hence it will be impossible to entirely alleviate political influence). The original bill aimed at enabling the common man to be able to have a particular ‘authority’ duly tried at a court of justice, but that bill fell through, and the revised bill being discussed now can only bring in any thing through the LS speaker, and hence the politics is introduced at the very basic level, but still, some system is better than no system. Also, the original Jan Lokpal was meant to be an authoritative body, autonomous, but now, the proposal reduces it to a mere advisory body. Obviously, it has been twisted and pruned to make it conducive for the survuival of every single corrupt practice, while giving the international and even common man audience the impression of some huge anti corruption step being taken. Strange, how time and again there is a good man who tries to bring in something actually, honestly straight forward and beneficial, and the negative influences succeed in overruling and twisting all well meant efforts into producing a result, a meaningless, useless result…Sad pattern, but it sure seems like one that’s here to stay…

Well, whats more, is exams starting this day next week, and exams for the next month and a half. Plus obviously, a woefully under prepared me.
Happy Summer All!!!

0 Responses to “Words Aplenty.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

